Simple Passion

France/Belgium, 99m, DCP

Showtimes & Tickets

Mon January 24

Tue January 25

Wed January 26

Thu January 27

Fri January 28

Sat January 29

Sun January 30

Mon January 31

Tue February 1

Wed February 2

Thu February 3

Adapted from Annie Ernaux’s 1991 autofictional novel, award-winning writer-director Danielle Arbid’s Simple Passion is a sexually frank portrait of female lust and vulnerability. University lecturer and single mother Hélène Auguste (Laetitia Dosch) falls into an addictive relationship with a Russian diplomat (Sergei Polunin) stationed in Paris. A Strand Releasing release

In French and English, with English subtitles

Official Selection: Cannes Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival, San Sebastián International Film Festival

A film by Danielle Arbid

Compelling study of obsessive, finally debilitating desire that honors its source with an unblinking female gaze.”

Guy Lodge, Variety

Laetitia Dosch is subtle and exquisite as a divorced Parisian lost in infatuation.”

Huw Oliver, Time Out