Temblores

107m, Guatemala/France/Luxembourg, DCP

Showtimes & Tickets

Tue December 10

Wed December 11

Thu December 12

Fri December 13

Sat December 14

Sun December 15

Mon December 16

Tue December 17

Wed December 18

Thu December 19

At first glance, Pablo has it all—good looks, a great job, a loving wife, and two children. A pillar of Guatemala City’s Evangelical Christian community, he is also holding onto a faith-shaking, and possibly family-shattering, secret: he’s in love with a man and wants to start a new life with him. Attempting to navigate what’s sure to be a tumultuous fallout, he reveals himself to his ultra-conservative family and is pushed into conversion therapy. The titular tremors refer not only to the physical earthquakes that beleaguer Guatemala but also to the emotional and communal after-effects of Pablo’s journey. A Film Movement release

In Spanish with English subtitles

Winner: Grand Jury Prize, NewFest

Official selection: Berlin International Film Festival, NewFest

A film by Jayro Bustamante

A magnificently unflinching film from a master director in the making.”

TheWrap